Watch: Trek Nation

Good Morning My Tinkering Robots! I am feeling better, and I am on the mend. I have been spending a lot of time just trying to recover from a cold gone bad. I wanted to make a quick post and remind everyone that “Trek Nation” will premiere on The Science Channel on Wednesday, November 30 at 8PM ET/PT. I hope you will tune in. 🙂

I blogged about this documentary back in September so to help refresh everyone on the subject, here’s a re-posting of my original entry:

I am a big fan of Star Trek. I am definitely someone who likes Trek over Star Wars. It’s not that I don’t appreciate Star Wars, but if it came down to it, I prefer Trek to Star Wars. Okay, let’s get past the preference.

In November, the Science Channel is going to air Gene Roddenberry’s son Rod’s documentary called, “Trek Nation.”

 



 
“Trek Nation” was produced and narrated by Roddenberry. The documentary has been eight years in the making. The documentary is expected to contain footage from the eight years of shooting, including interviews with many of the who’s who in science-fiction, as well as Star Trek’s large and faithful fan base. However, one of the chief reasons for this documentary is Rod’s own curiosity about his father before he became an iconic figure in Science Fiction history as well as after. I am curious about his childhood, his teenager years, and the early stages of his career.

“Trek Nation” will not include Rod’s late mother, Majel, who played Nurse Chapel in the original “Star Trek” as well as Lwaxana Troi in “Star Trek: The Next Generation.” Not to mention she provided the regular voice of the on-board computers of Federation starships for S”tar Trek: The Original Series,” “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” “Star Trek: Voyager,” and most of the Star Trek movies. She reprised her role as a shipboard computer’s voice in two episodes of the prequel series “Star Trek: Enterprise.” Rod decided that even though his mother was filmed for the documentary, he wanted to hold onto the footage for a potential future project, which could be her own documentary.

Source: Airlock Alpha

Leave a Reply

