BBC + Zombies = AWESOME!

(Courtesy: Robert Moore)

Anyone who reads my blog should know my passion for all things Z O M B I E! Blame George Romero for starting it all.

Well, Friday brings us some exciting news concerning the BBC and Zombies! BBC’s brand-new zombie drama series is to be called In the Flesh (the title alone gives me the tingles) that looks like it’ll mix a bit of camp a la Shaun of the Dead fun with some Walking Dead horror and drama.

In The Flesh will be a three-part (duration of each part: 90 minutes) drama series that will air on BBC Three, which also airs the supernatural series Being Human.

The series will be written by a new writer named Dominic Mitchell (the guy was discovered through the BBC’s Northern Voices competition).

The BBC says In The Flesh:

…His script begins after the Zombie Uprising has been quelled by the Human Volunteer Force and life is starting to return to normal. Any surviving zombies have been captured, medicated, held in an NHS holding facility in Norfolk and are being slowly re-integrated back into society, with the help of contact lenses and cover up mousse. The story follows teenager Kieran Walker and boldly goes where no zombie drama has gone before.

There’s release date for this series but merely it’s in the works. I will keep a look at for news about it and keep you informed.

It’s an exciting time for zombies. πŸ™‚

Source: BBC

2 thoughts on “BBC + Zombies = AWESOME!

  1. I struggle to get excited about anything associated with the BBC, especially as it usually translates to cheap effects, lazy acting and cliche writing. I guess you only have to look at the current state of “Doctor Who” to see this, much less the fact that this is the company responsible for giving the world Noel Clarke (shudder).

    Zombies like Vampires have now been so overworked as a horror sub genre, it’s going to take something really special to make it stand out, from the masses of shuffling clones.

  2. Yeah, Zombies are getting a work over. I definitely cannot deny that Zombies are the new vampire. However, I suppose for me, I like zombies a whole lot. I don’t mind another series if it can bring something fresh or have some interesting characters. You have a unique perspective with respect to the BBC and living in the UK. I honestly have enjoyed the Dr. Who from Eccleston to present. But he was the first Doctor I got introduced to. I don’t view the show as perfect, but I have enjoyed it nonetheless. πŸ˜€ Yeah, Mickey – a bit of simpering character.

Leave a Reply

