Paying Respect

I am an animal lover. I have 3 cats, and I watch over a small group of ferals (have gotten spayed or neutered). Each of my cats and even the outdoor ferals have a certain personality. With enough love and attention, it’s amazing what you can accomplish. My cats bring a lot of joy into my life, and I hope I make theirs a happier one as well.

It’s always a sad day when a furry friend passes along. I do not look forward to that inevitable day that I say so long to  my furry friends.

tumblr_m98npqTqrs1r3rsfmo1_500

So, in that being said, Neil Gaiman posted Saturday about the loss of his furry friend, his dog Cabal. I enjoyed reading about his miscellaneous adventures with Cabal. It pains me deeply to know that he is gone. The loss of a pet is the loss of a friend. They have personalities, quirks, habits, and unlike many a human, provide an unconditional love. My cats love to be feed, sure, but they come to be near me even when they don’t want something. They love me regardless of me feeding them. Pets are like family. There are some people that just don’t get it.

My heart goes out to Neil. If you would like to read about Cabal and Neil’s relationship, please venture to his blog post – here.

I take stock in a quote by Mitch Alborn – “Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.”

Leave a Reply

