Flashback 2012: Blood at the Beach II

Earlier in 2012, I attended Blood at the Beach I in April. In November, I was fortunate enough to attend Blood at the Beach II, and I have secured a ticket to Blood at the Beach III for May.

Blood at the Beach II brought a change of venue. The event took place at The Cavalier in Virginia Beach. Unlike last time, the hotel was on the beach. It was initially a challenge to find The Cavalier, but we managed to find it after stopping and getting some assistance. There isn’t just one Cavalier hotel but two – a old brick hotel and a newer hotel.

For the uninitiated, Blood at the Beach is a 3-day horror convention that offers fans to mingle with various celebrities and vendors involved in or have connections to all things Horror.

Me and Weird Science's Ilan Mitchell Smith
Me and Weird Science’s Ilan Mitchell Smith

Blood at the Beach II had a variety of celebrities such as Anthony Michael Hall (The Dead Zone), Sid Haig (House of 1000 Corpses), Joe Pilato (George Romero’s Day of the Dead), Zack Galligan (Gremlins, Waxworks), Anthony Michael Hall (The Dead Zone, Weird Science), Kane Hodder, Irone Singleton and Chandler Riggs from The Walking Dead, and many more.

Besides an abundance of celebrities, there were many vendors intermingled amongst the celebrities. Vendors selling custom figures, pictures, vinyl stickers, clothing, collectibles, posters, DVDs, and handmade goods. There was something for everyone.

Location

2631759-The-Cavalier-Hotel-Hotel-Exterior-1

Let’s talk about location! The convention this time was held at the newer “Cavalier” hotel located right on the Beach. The layout and building space was definitely more suitable than the previous location. There was ample space for everyone. At the first convention, the celebrity room was very packed and hard to navigate amongst the tables. On top of the vendors were through a corridor off in another area. Some vendors felt that it made it harder for people to find them.  During this convention, the organizer mixed the vendors in with the celebrities. There was plenty of room to walk around. It definitely was less claustrophobic.

Since I didn’t stay at the previous convention location, I can’t compare the accommodations, but I can tell you about my experience at the hotel. It was satisfactory. My room had two twin beds, TV, microwave, mini fridge and smaller amenities. It wasn’t fancy by any means but fine. I wish the beds were more comfortable as well as the pillows. The water pressure in the shower was heavenly, and it was nice that the ice machine was located on same floor. I didn’t have to call anybody for ice. I could get my own. This still goes on in the Carlyle Hotel in D.C. and it is nicer than this hotel.

I must say this trip was the first time I elected to use room service. I enjoyed the food, and they served food until midnight. The food was tasty, the service was prompt and courteous.

They had several bars that were available to patrons that were well run with friendly staff. The elevators were fine for me but other people told stories of being stuck in them or something else funny happening during their ride. The elevators were thought to be haunted. It made for good con tales to share.

One thing I thought was weird was the lack of trash cans. With so many people wondering around and on occasion with a drink in hand, you would think they would have more trash cans.

Celebrities

Blood At The Beach II had a decent variety of actors and actresses and other celebrities. There was someone and something for everybody. If you you liked classic character actors, there was Richard Herd and Andrew Prine. Both actors appeared in the sci-fi/horror TV miniseries, V.

Me and Day of the Dead's Joe Pilato
Me and Day of the Dead’s Joe Pilato
Me and Weird Science's Robert Rusler (I don't like this picture of me but Rusler is rocking his pose).
Me and Weird Science’s Robert Rusler (I don’t like this picture of me but Rusler is rocking his pose).

 

Here’s is a list of other  celebrities in attendance:

  • Cleve and Constance Hall
  • Ilan Mitchell-Smith
  • Anthony Michael Hall
  • Robert Rusler
  • Suzanne Snyder
  • Judie Aronson
  • Vernon Wells
  • Dana Barron
  • Jason Lively
  • Alexander Winter
  • Jamie Kennedy
  • “Scream Queen” Elina Madison
  • Vern Trotter
  • Addy Miller
  • Chandler Riggs
  • Iron-E Singleton
  • Catherine Mary Stewart
  • Lance Guest
  • Sid Haig
  • Tom Towles
  • Joe Pilato
  • Zach Galligan
  • Kane Hodder
  • Adrienne King
  • Amy Steele
  • Jack Ketchum
  • Zack Ward
  • Brendan Fletcher

Like many people, I was trying to split my budget between vendors and celebrities.  I ended up with some awesome Dia De Los Muertos gear from LixOnline.  I picked a nice selection of movies and posters from AlternativeXchange.

Perler Bead Art
Perler Bead Art
Me and Kane Hodder (Friday The 13th VII - X, Hatchet I - III)
Me and Kane Hodder (Friday The 13th VII – X, Hatchet I – III)

Highlights

  • Seeing friends I had made at the previous convention.
  • Enjoying a conversation with Ilan Mitchell Smith about Medieval Literature.
  • Meeting  Joe Pilato aka Captain Rhodes from Day of the Dead.
  • Getting Bear Hugged by Kane Hodder.
  • Attending the Weird Science panel – Robert Rusler is one funny guy!
  • Meeting Artist Joel Robinson. I have appreciated his artwork on Etsy for a long time without ever knowing who he was exactly. It was nice being able to tell him how much I love his work.
  • Dressing up and expressing my love for They Live. I know the VIP Party was about zombies, but I wanted to do my own thing and it was a hit. Although, it would have been great if I could have seen half of what was going that night. My mask didn’t have adequate air vents so the eye pieces kept fogging up.
  • Watching and listening to my friend Melissa banter with Tom Towles; riding the elevator with Tom Towles. He was cracking us all up with his jokes.
  • Ditching the convention for a couple hours to go see Mikey Mason with my husband and friend Tim. Mikey is hilarious and is a good addition to your comedic rotation, especially if you like Weird Al.

Me sandwiched between The Zombie couple that would win King and Queen of the Zombie Prom.
Me sandwiched between The Zombie couple that would win King and Queen of the Zombie Prom.
Me and Legend Sid Haig
Me and Legend Sid Haig

 

Leave a Reply

