The Joy of Cosplay

13267918_798175490283269_5856146470781067457_nI am quite aware that some convention attendees do not have a favorable view of cosplay. Remember back in 2014, Nerdist reported,

“[..] some comic book artists who seem to be of the “get off my convention lawn, everyone who’s not spending money,” variety think that cosplayers are impeding sales. Known Star Wars artist Dave Dorman’s wife Denise Dorman recently wrote about how they’re losing sales and indirectly tied that to cosplay culture, and now former Batman artist Pat Broderick states cosplayers bring nothing of value to the shows.”

However, cosplay allows fan to celebrate what they love and allows them to create something too. Sure, there are going to be some people there that are just looking to hang out and not buy anything. However, this isn’t just indicative of cosplayers. I think it is a negative stereotype.

I had never dressed up for a comics convention as I always attend horror cons. However, my good friend wanted me to dress up as Sadness from Inside Out to accompany her Joy and her son. My costumes for my horror cons have been original ideas, not a specific character. However, Sadness is a character from Pixar’s Inside Out. I spent time and money crafting an image to do Sadness justice.

Roaming around the convention center was tiring, but I never got tired of hearing and seeing little kids light up and gravitate to us. Between the two days of the con, we took so many pictures. It was a little bit exhausting, but it felt rewarding sharing in everyone’s joy and fun. I visited many booths and bought what I could afford. I enjoy spending money with artists and vendors. In fact, I have bought more art than my walls can hold. I think some artists are unfair to treat cosplayers like their a nuisance or distraction to making money. To me, it shows me that caring for your fans are the least of your concerns and you care only to take their money. If you are that kind of person, I really don’t want to give you any of my money.

I feel if you want to be respected and valued, you need to return the sentiment in kind. Realize that even if people don’t buy something, your attitude can dictate if that person comes back to another convention and buys something from you on that occassion. I know it’s important to make a livelihood, and I don’t blame you for having concerns. However, selling something means interaction and if you come to a convention and can’t interact with people then you probably will have a harder time making money.

Anyways, Tidewater Comicon was filled with neat costumes, happy people, lots of vendors, artists, and a few celebs. It had a great vibe. It didn’t feel corporate like Wizard’s conventions. I would definitely come again. I spent a decent amount of money with vendors at this convention. It was fun! I can’t wait to go again.

 

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Cosplay

  1. I love this! I’m quite new to the whole concept of cosplaying (as in, I’m not a cosplayer but I didn’t know it was a thing for quite some time). I love that people dress up and share their love for their fandoms. Great article. Are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    1. I am not as serious as some cosplayers like YaYa Han. I don’t perform in character for competition. I enjoy mingling. People take pictures. In this article, it is really the first time I have shown my cosplayer side. Some take cosplaying very serious, sometimes too serious. I like to have fun. I am more of a conceptualizer and a drawer/painter versus crafter. I use these skills to find pieces to create an image. Perhaps down the road my crafting skills will get better and I can make more than buy pieces.

      1. That sounds like a great balance! It looks like a fun world to be a part of every now and then.

        Hey, if you’d be interested in sharing your work on another platform, I’d be more than happy to introduce you to Moviepilot/Creators. Freel free to shoot me an e-mail so I can expand on that. I’d love to hear from you. You can find my contact details on my blog.

Leave a Reply

